Hi Everyone,

I recently decided to join in with Angie from GnomeAngel in her Dilly Bag-a-long. It has been a very long time since I have unpacked my sewing machine as I tend to do mainly hand sewing these days.

gnomeangel-banner-dilly-bag-a-long

The Dilly Bag pattern by Judy Newman is the perfect mix of English paper piecing and machine sewing.

I made a very dodgy looking template and got into the fussy cutting. I used a selection of fat quarters and got to work on the hexagons and came up with something a bit different to what I’ve been doing lately.

IMG_9694

 

IMG_9709

 

The placement of the hexagons was a random thing, I just tried to not have two the same next to each other.

IMG_9714

 

As a very recent convert to using glue over hand-basting, I find it so much quicker and that gives me more time to join them up (and maybe even finish some projects 😉 )

IMG_9776

I like to remove the papers at the end of the project, it keeps the ‘fabric’ together while it is being handled a lot.

After getting all of the hexagons joined it was time to unpack my very neglected sewing machine (I’m just glad that she was still talking to me after all of this time).

It would have been handy if I could have found some pins too (in my defence most of my stuff is packed while I move between houses).

IMG_9862

 

Another great thing about doing this bag-a-long is that I discovered that I am not the only quilter in the house… Paige (5) was very intrigued with the whole process.

IMG_9863

 

My basic sewing skills came back to me and I was able to put together a bag that resembled the pattern.

IMG_9864

IMG_9868

 

After a more than two year absence from any machine sewing I would highly recommend this pattern to anyone who is looking for a quick and cute little bag.

Ta-dah!!

 

IMG_9884

 

Check out this blog post with some beautiful hexies:

Wednesday 23 September: Sharon @ Simple Things

 

The following bloggers will also be (or have) participating in the bag-a-long

Friday 26 September: Sharon @ The Projects of My Life – that’s me!!

Wednesday 1 October: Judith @ Just Jude

Friday 3 October: Progress link party here @ GnomeAngel.com

Wednesday 8 October: Kate @ Stitched with Love

Friday 10 October: Kathy @ iamacraftykat

Monday 13 October: Barbara @ Sunflower Stitcheries

Wednesday 15 October: Rachel @ Little White Dove

Friday 17 October: End link party here @ GnomeAngel.com

Thanks for a great little pattern Judy, and thanks to Angie for organising this bag-a-long. I may leave the sewing machine out and see what else I can do. 🙂

Cheers,

Sharon